

Kuraray Europe GmbH, Philip-Reis-Straße 4, 65795 Hattersheim am Main/Germany

CLP Regulation - 2nd Information Letter Products of Business Area PVB Mowital[®]

Dr. Martin Baumgartner ESHA & Regulatory Affairs phone: +49 69 305 14453

+49 69 305 98 14453 martin.baumgartner@kuraray.com

www.kuraray.eu

15.11.2018

Dear Sir or Madam!

CLP Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008 has introduced a new system for the classification, labelling and packaging of chemical substances and mixtures (based on the United Nations GHS). This system is applied to hazardous substances since December 2010. Mixtures have become subject to the obligations of CLP Regulation since June 2015 at the latest.

In addition, CLP Regulation (articles 39 and 40) has established a notification procedure for substances subject to REACH Regulation and for hazardous substances. Manufacturers and importers must notify such substances to the Classification & Labelling (C&L) Inventory operated by ECHA as soon as placed on the European market.

The products of Kuraray Europe GmbH, which are distributed under the trade names

Mowital[®]

are neither classified as hazardous materials within the European Union nor are they - as polymers - subject to REACH. Consequently, these products do not require any notification to the C&L Inventory.

Since these products are not classified as hazardous, safety data sheets (SDSs) are not provided automatically. However, they are available on request and will comply with the requirements of REACH Regulation. Due to the exemption of polymers from REACH, these SDSs do not require an extension by exposure scenarios (no eSDSs required).

If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us via REACH@kuraray.com.

Sincerely yours,

KURARAY EUROPE GmbH

Dr. M. Baumgartner

(Head of ESHA and Regulatory Affairs)

(Director, Global Business - Technical Resin)

www.kuraray.eu

SITZ DER GESELLSCHAFT: Hattersheim am Mair

AMTSGERICHT: Frankfurt am Main, HRB 78119

GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER: Dr. Matthias Gutweiler (Vorsitz),

AUFSICHTSRAT: Werner Flach (Vorsitz)